h1

Jeffy’s Coming Out Party

August 4, 2011

Hey all.

We got a new logo, made by the lovely Chelsea Maida. As soon as I have a hi-res copy, rest assured it will be spammed everywhere. Until then, you’ll just have to order the new MATT WIXSON’S FLYING CIRCUS record from Community Records Dot Org and see it posted on the back. 🙂

Speaking of that, NEW MATT WIXSON’S FLYING CIRCUS RECORD!

So Matt Wixson has a band. They’ve been playing shows for quite a while now. They’ve played Disasterfest and Block Party. They’ve made probably the best parody t-shirt I’ve ever seen. And a week from today they’ll be hitting the road once again (click here for tour dates). And with that, in conjunction with our best buds down at Community Records, we bring you MWFC’s first release, JEFFY.

Click HERE to order the physical copy from Community Records.

AND AND AND AND AND AND AND AND

Click the cover below to download it for free!

And as always, make sure to check out what else is going on in our FREE MUSIC section! And make sure to keep in touch! Like our Facebook Page for even more up-to-date news regarding the Open Hand family!

Matt Wixson’s Flying Circus – Jeffy (8.4.2011)
1. They Can’t Fix Me
2. Perpetual Emotion Machine
3. The Architect
4. People of Zee Wurl, Relax!
5. I Have A Thing
6. Drinking Hymn of the Republic

Linter Notes:
JEFFY, the very first release (and very second recording) by MATT WIXSON’S FLYING CIRCUS. While attempting to come up with a title for this EP, Mike suggested we name it as if it were our child. The first name out of his mouth ended up the title. None of us know a Jeffy. I don’t think anyone really does. Anyway, here’s some information that may be useful in the process of enjoying this release. Thanks! — MWFC

THEY CAN’T FIX ME is about a friend of mine who kind of had a mental catastrophe. It scared the hell out of me, because there was nothing I could do to help, and I was sure I would be there, too, one day.

PERPETUAL EMOTION MACHINE is about a two-way street of loneliness. It’s about the unfulfilled desires to have someone special and to be someone special to someone else. This was previously released by Matt as a solo song.

THE ARCHITECT is about control and failure. It’s about taking the chance to let other people in, and how if you decide to go it alone you have no one else to blame for the outcomes of things. If you think this sounds a bit like Against Me! in the beginning, but I promise it owes more to a Lily Allen song.

PEOPLE OF ZEE WURL, RELAX! is basically about the conquering of desire. It’s about living in the moment and then coming to regret choices made. It’s about Buddhism.

I HAVE A THING is about straight guys and the gay songwriters they love to torment. We’re stoked about our bud Bud’s trombone solo.

DRINKING HYMN OF THE REPUBLIC is a parody of drinking songs. It is also a drinking song. This definitely has more instruments on it than any other song on the EP, thanks to Matt’s melodica and Mark, Adam, and Bud from CbJ.

Matt Wixson’s Flying Circus is:
Matt Wixson – guitars, vocals, keys
Mike Land – drums, vocals, percussion
Josh Young – bass guitar, vocals

Additional Musicians:
Bud Koltys – trombone
Mark Van Baak – tenor sax
Adam Gill – trumpet
Produced by MWFC and Ben Wixson
Engineered by Ben Wixson

In loving memory of Mitchell Dubey. Special thanks to: the Land household, the Wixson family, Josh’s mother, Jerry Cottec, Aaron Hibbert, Greg Rodrigue, D-Ray, We Are The Union, Rob Bates, King Django, CbJ, Lindsay Sanderson, Markie Tilton, Downtown Brown, Paranoia Dance Party, Jay Reed, A Billion Ernies, CJ Curran, Ren Dickson, Seized Up, ATG, Evan Roy, Larry Firmin, Informant, Sonic Boom Six, every single person reading this, and lastly Ben Miotke and the other drunk bitches.
Download: CommunityRecords.org and OpenHandRecords.com
Keep Up: mattwixson.tumblr.com and facebook.com/mattwixsonmusic
Contact: mattywixson@gmail.com

LYRICS:
They Can’t Fix Me
I realize the situation at this time can’t be verified
But I know if I was you and I was standing in your shoes I’d be terrified
The only thing that I’m good for is pointing the blame
But I have no one to scream at and nobody to blame this time
Got no solutions, all I have is motivation and energy
I feel so powerless, I just wish that I could do anything
And I just and I just and I just and I just wanna help
So that everyone’s better prepared when I need it myself
I can’t fix you, they can’t fix me
I can’t fix you, and that’s terrifying
___________________________________________________
Perpetual Emotion Machine
I’m getting tired of being put up with
Like I’m not too much of a pain
And I’m getting sick of the passive relationships
Nobody cares either way
And you could go a month without me
Or you could see me everyday
I’m just a lukewarm feeling, an inoffensive gray
I’m getting bored of withholding affection
For anyone other than me
And I’m getting rather annoyed at the way
I’m alone when I go out to eat
Because my heart is overflowing
But no one’s there to catch the spill
I’m just a fire burning that you won’t ever feel
And so I need someone to love me
Like I need someone to love
How convenient that I fit the bill
The only one to plug into
This equation of isolation
This simulation of masturbation
___________________________________________________
The Architect
Back a long long time ago
Several billion years or so there was a god
He knew all there was to know
He made the universe just so but it was flawed
Maybe he felt a little rushed
Maybe a week was not enough to get it right
Maybe the limits of the limitless
Are cleared if you just give it one more night
It’s such a shame
When the architect lets the building fall to flame
No one can edit so no one takes credit
And no one takes the blame
Back an hour or two ago
Somewhere on an empty road there was a man
Who had a drink and had a smoke
Who had the inside of a joke, who had a plan
With his stable full of friends
Like better means to bitter ends, he headed home
With so much at his fingertips
The good and bad relationships, he was alone
It’s such a shame
When the architect lets the building fall to flame
No one can edit so no one takes credit
And no one takes the blame
___________________________________________________
People of Zee Wurl, Relax!
Another night of happy moments
Another morning of regrets
Another week of losing focus
On becoming somebody I can respect
I tell myself that it’s the last time
But I know that I’m going to be here again
Another night of feeling sorry
But you don’t understand what for
Abuse of mind, abuse of body
In an attempt to simply satisfy the soul
I tell myself that it’s the last time
But I know that I’m going to be here again
This pounding punishment
Not sure I deserve this
This pounding punishment
None of this is worth this
Whoa, na na na I can’t break out
Another night of self-indulgence
To reaffirm that I’m a man
One more return to my old weakness
Cuz after all, yeah after all, I’m just a man
I tell myself that it’s the last time
But I know that I’m going to be here again
This pounding punishment
Not sure I deserve this
This pounding punishment
None of this is worth this
Whoa, na na na I can’t break out
Another night of mutilation
Another twisting of the knife
Another night of deprivation
In this day-in, day-out hangover life
___________________________________________________
I Have a Thing
I have a thing for guys who have a thing for chicks
I swear it’s not intentional, attraction never is
You have a thing I can’t and you love to show it off
You have a thing for playing games like I have a thing for loss
And I’m getting deeper, deeper
I have some things to teach, you have some things I could correct
And you’ll end up a better man and I’ll end up a wreck
I have some things called wounds, you have a thing called salt
It’s either let you rub it in or not talk to you at all
And I’m getting deeper, deeper
You have a thing for me having a thing for you
I have nothing to justify the things we put me through
And I’m getting deeper, deeper
___________________________________________________
Drinking Hymn of the Republic
Oh I can drown my sorrows in the bottom of a glass
I kind of feeling like dying but instead I’m getting smashed
You say that it’s unhealthy, I say blow it out your ass
Tonight I’m getting drunk
Cuz I can drown my sorrows in the bottom of a glass
I kind of feeling like dying but instead I’m getting smashed
You say I have a problem, I say no one fucking asked you
Tonight I’m getting drunk
Pour me pour me more tequila

2 comments

  1. PhAT EPIX – A+

    Trombone solo just owned my face hard


  2. oh yeah, good EP.

    The horns did surprise me quite a bit.



Leave a Reply

